Persian herb frittata (kuku sabzi)

A couple weeks ago I heard about the keto (i.e. ketogenic) diet. A diet where you eat low carbs, moderate protein and high fats that turns your body into a “fat-burning machine”. You can read more about it here.

Though I’ve never done it, I know people who have, and they’ve gotten great results. Every time I tried to start it, I had a nagging thought that the true best way to eat is simply to eat everything in moderation.

So for now, I’ll stick to a balanced diet (which of course includes pasta and ice cream!), but in the spirit of low-carb, I wanted to share a recipe for one of my all-time favourite dishes. It is often served as an appetizer or a side in Persian cuisine, but it can be served as a main — a light dinner that leaves you feeling satisfied.

Gluten and dairy free

Yields: Time:

Oil

Handfuls of cilantro, dill, parsley, mint or whatever herbs you have on hand

2 eggs

Zereshk or cranberries

Walnuts

Garlic

Whip the eggs lightly until XYZ. Add in the herbs, walnuts, cranberries and fry. Cut into four and then fry the other side.

Leave a Reply

